Scientific Presentation and Critique

Course Directors:Emre Aksay and Christopher Mason
When: Quarters III and IV annually
Time: Wednesdays, 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Start Date: Wednesday, March 14, 2012
Where: LC 5th Floor Conference Room
Who: required for 1st and 2nd yr PBSB students; Open to all WGSMS students

This course is required for all 1st and 2nd year PBSB graduate students, but is open to all WGSMS students. It is designed to train students in scientific presentation and critique. The structure is a formalized, in depth "journal club". Each 1st year student will choose a paper from a list provided by the Course Directors. Each 2nd year student will select a paper in their thesis field, subject to approval of the Course Directors. Each session will consist of a student formally presenting their selected paper to the class, which is expected to serve as a critical audience. The presentation should consist of an introduction of the relevant background literature, an objective presentation of the study, a subjective analysis/critique of the work, and suggestions for future work. Presentations by 2nd year students will be scheduled first, giving the 1st year students the opportunity to learn from their more senior colleagues. Grading will be based on presentation quality and contribution to constructive feedback.

2009 Presentations

18th March 2009 - Zach Nichols and Asif Rizwan

25th March 2009 - Anshu Bhatia [PDF] and Jacqueline Brazin

1st April 2009 - Evan Mollinelli [PDF] and Armen Kherlopian [PDF]

8th April 2009 - Ethan Cerami [PDF] and Steve Lianoglou [PDF]

15th April 2009 - Julia Moore [PDF] and Ping Mu [PDF]

22nd April 2009 - Poorvi Kaushik [PDF] and Aaron Arvey [PDF]

29th April 2009 - Fang-Ke Huang [PDF] and Narae Bae [PDF]

6th May 2009 - Leyi Wang [PDF], Matt Hathorn [PDF]

13th May 2009 - Sherika Sylvester [PDF] and Sayan Mondal [PDF]

20th May 2009 - Michael Wasserman [PDF] and Elle Flood [PDF]

27th May 2009 - Katie Fenz [PDF] and Nazia Alam [PDF]

Previous Years: 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007